Tour De France Route 2018

0
330

As always the new Tour de France route is packed with all kinds of exciting features. With an unsurprisingly slow start, the tour looks set to build after the first week. The route only features one individual time trial, coming very late in the race at stage 20 this will certainly be the decider. Hopefully similar to what we saw in this years edition of the Giro D’Italia. From unclimbed passes to gravel roads – we’re sure it’ll be a thriller.

Running slightly later this year with a start on July 7th, the 105th Tour route will end on July 29th. Covering a total distance of 3,329km the route comes with:

  • 8 flat stages
  • 5 hilly stages
  • 6 mountain stages and 3 altitude finishes
    (La Rosière, Alpe d’Huez, Saint-Lary-Soulan col de Portet)
  • 1 team time-trial
  • 1 individual time-trial
  • 2 rest days

For the first time the race is almost 100% french. Minus a fleeting 15km visit to Spain, the Tour de France will take place entirely in France. It’ll see cobbles, TTT’s and a reduced number at the start line. With teams of 8 instead of the usual 9. The tour also sees the loss of big finish line time bonuses, bringing back a more traditional format of racing.

The 9 stages before the mountains will see a slow start, but not an easy one for the sprinters. The course is targetting at the climbers with battle taking place in the Alps and Pyrenees. The tour is the shortest it’s been since 2002, and it includes a very exciting stage 17. Comprising of just 65km in the mountains, it’s a guaranteed smash fest – sure to ruin a few legs. 8 possible sprint finishes will keep the sprinters on their toes, along with the contenders trying to keep out of trouble.

Who to watch?

Tom DeMoulin is already being noted as Chris Froome’s biggest competition. Although the lack of Time Trial miles may hinder the young Dutch talent and he’s already declared he’s waiting for the Giro route. Chris Froome is hoping to add to his 4 yellow jerseys. Nairo Quintana will be looking to improve on a disappointing season with Mikel Landa by his side. Can Romain Bardet add to his impressive results list along side Warrn Barguil. Dan Martin and Richie Porte are both powerful contenders for the yellow jersey after disappointing ends in 2017. The up and coming Yates twins will also certainly add to the excitement.

Stages:

Stage Date Start/Finish Distance
1 Saturday, July 7 Noirmoutier-en-l’Île to Fontenay-le-Comte 189km
2 Sunday, July 8 Mouilleron-Saint-Germain to La Roche-sur-Yon 183km
3 Monday, July 9 Cholet to Cholet 35km (TTT)
4 Tuesday, July 10 La Baule to Sarzeau 192km
5 Wednesday, July 11 Lorient to Quimper 203km
6 Thursday, July 12 Brest to Mûr de Bretagne 181km
7 Friday, July 13 Fougères to Chartres 231km
8 Saturday, July 14 Dreux to Amiens 181km
9 Sunday, July 15 Arras to Roubaix 154km
Rest Day Monday, July 16 Annecy
10 Tuesday, July 17 Annecy to Le Grand-Bornand 159km
11 Wednesday, July 18 Albertville to La Rosière 108km
12 Thursday, July 19 Bourg-Saint-Maurice to Alpe d’Huez 175km
13 Friday, July 20 Bourg d’Oisans to Valence 169km
14 Saturday, July 21 Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteuax to Mende 187km
15 Sunday, July 22 Millau to Carcassonne 181km
Rest Day Monday, July 23 Carcassonne
16 Tuesday, July 24 Carcassonne to Bagnères-de-Luchon 218km
17 Wednesday, July 25 Bagnères-de-Luchon to Saint-Lary-Soulan/Col-de-Portet 65km
18 Thursday, July 26 Trie-sur-Baïse to Pau 172km
19 Friday, July 27 Lourdes to Laruns 200km
20 Saturday, July 28 Saint-Pée-sur-Nivelle to Espelette 31km (ITT)
21 Sunday, July 29 Houilles to Paris 115km